Berries In My Oatmeal

BERRIES IN MY OATMEAL

I love purple porridge! “What’s that?” you ask. I cook oatmeal (oats that’s pulverised in a blender) and then I put in a handful of blueberries which turns the porridge purple and makes it taste fruity. D-e-e-e-licious!

What’s that got to do with God loving me first? I didn’t make the blueberries that I put in my oatmeal. God made them for my enjoyment.

Life is a bit like purple porridge. Oatmeal is tasty but oatmeal with blueberries is special. Because God loved us, He sent Jesus to bring us back to Himself. Just being a member of His family, living under His care and protection and enjoying fellowship with Him every day is really living, but then, on top of that, He pops “blueberries” into our “porridge” to make life even better.

He planned everything before the foundation of the world. He planned your life and my life and wrote them in His book before we were born. “All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” Psalm 139:16. He knew us before we were born. God told Jeremiah, “Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you; before you were born I set you apart.” Jeremiah 1:5.

Long before I ever knew God, He knew me. He chose me when I was still a rebellious sinner. “For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in in His sight. In love He predestined us to be adopted as His sons through Jesus Christ…” Ephesians 1: 4, 5. He loved me when I was unlovable. “But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8.

How amazing that God loved us enough to send Jesus to die for us! Even more amazing is the love He shows us every day in His provision for our every need. The part that blows me away is that His love goes even farther than that. He puts the berries in our oatmeal to add the sparkle to our daily lives – those kisses from a good God that a loving Father does for His children.

I’m learning to look for the berries instead of analysing the oatmeal!

Scripture taken from THE HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®, NIV® Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

Have you read my new book, Learning to be a Son – The Way to the Father’s Heart (copyright 2015, Partridge Publishing)? You’ll love it!

Available on http://www.amazon.com in paperback, e-book or kindle version or order directly from the publisher at http://www.partridgepublishing.com.

Leave a Reply

