What’s Your Story?

WHAT’S YOUR STORY?

 

I love God, the Father. Why do I love Him?

I love because He has a BIG plan for the world and He included me in it.

I love Him because He chose me long before He ever thought up that plan and He called me when I was rebellious, stubborn, sinful and dead to be a member of His forever family. He chose me, even though I hated Him and didn’t want Him.

I love Him because He was patient with me and didn’t give up when I turned Him down.  He waited until I was ready to hear His voice and then He called me to come to Him.

I love Him because He took away my stony heart and gave me a new heart to love Him and to want to do what He wants instead of what I want.  He showed me a better way to live, and when I follow that way, I experience a peace that is real though I can’t figure it out.

I love Him because He is my Father. He doesn’t punish me when I sin. He keeps showing me that His way is the best way and I’m slowly finding that out.

I love Him because He allows me to choose but He also allows me to feel the consequences of my bad choices.  He doesn’t shield me from my foolishness but He uses my mistakes to teach me a better way.

I love Him because He treats me like a son, not like an illegitimate child.  No matter what I do, He loves me.  He is a true Father because He is always patient and always generous.  He never stops blessing me in spite of my faults and failures.

I love Him because He always keeps His promises, no matter how much I fail Him and no matter how long it takes.  He knows better than I do when to do what He said He would do.  Even when I give up on Him, He never gives up on me.  Sometimes I make demands and feel hurt when He doesn’t seem to hear me.  But when He does answer I feel ashamed because He knew better all the time.

I’ve come a long way on this journey of faith but I still have a long way to go and much to learn.  I’m glad to be where I am.  When I look back I remember lots of pain and heartache because I didn’t understand what God was doing  Now I understand a little better and it’s easier to trust Him.

Is this your story too?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

